Just who are Michelle Coxsen and Lee Bess????

So our previous post outlined our blog focus, but where do our thoughts, philosophies and opinions spring from? Just who are Michelle Coxsen and Lee Bess???

 

LeeBess

 Lee Bess

I’m a latecomer to the library industry; in fact, I’ve never had a career before, choosing to be a stay-at-home Mum with a casual retail job. In a totally unplanned move, I scored a temporary role at the Iona College Library, and I just knew I’d found my “thing”. I subsequently completed my Diploma of Library and Information Studies at Southbank Institute of Technology in 2008 and continued my education, completing a Bachelor of Information Studies from Charles Sturt University in 2013. Even though finishing study was a huge relief; I’m actually considering furthering my education, possibly in marketing or project management (but don’t let my hubby know just yet!)

Like many of us in the library industry, my love of libraries was sparked as a child – I still remember my first trip to the library and the wonderful excitement as I realised that I could read ANY of these books. A child of the 60s, Enid Blyton was my constant companion: The Famous Five and Brer Rabbit were my favourites as I sat next to the fire at home.

Fast forward to the present, and libraries mean so much more to me now than just “books”: they’re the gateway to information in all forms and I love that. I love that librarians stand against censorship, encourage lifelong learning and develop information literacy skills. I’m proud to be part of this profession.

My current position is at the SkillsTech Australia Library. Prior to this, I worked in libraries at Metropolitan South Institute of TAFE, Griffith University, Redlands City Council and Iona College. I’m an associate member of ALIA, enrolled in the ALIA PD Scheme, a committee member of the ALIA Qld Group and the secretary of the Queensland VET Libraries Association. Being a latecomer, I’m hoping to squeeze as much experience into the next few years before retirement.

On the personal side, I’m married to a wonderfully supportive man, and have 5 children and 3 grandchildren. I love to cook for my family, so BBQs, dinners, brunches and delicious desserts are a common occurrence in our household. Naturally I enjoy quiet time reading, but my guilty pleasure is watching reality TV, and I do love a glass of wine – not that I feel the least bit guilty about that!

My promise to followers of this blog:
• I will not share photos of things I have cooked
• I will not bore readers with amusing stories about my children or grandchildren

Michelle Coxsen

Michelle Coxsen

Looking back on my life I think I was a librarian in the making. I have always been drawn to libraries – I feel immediately comfortable and at home in one – always have. I love the look of books on shelves, the smell of old dusty books, loosing myself in a story, and having a huge to-be-read pile. I believe in the freedom of information and education and that all should have access to the Internet and new technologies – I am proud that libraries assist communities with these values. I have always enjoyed researching and writing and some of my favourite parts of my job are facilitating information literacy classes and answering reference questions. My goal is to be a librarian in an academic library. My dream is to one day work at the Bodleian Library in Oxford.
But for now it is baby steps and I am enjoying my career immensely. I have been working in TAFE Libraries for over ten years. I started off as a cadet library technician, got my diploma and a permanent job as a library technician, and in February 2013 I finished my degree to become a librarian. I have had the opportunity to look after the Nursing and Children’s Services teams as their liaison librarian and I loved building relationships with the teachers and promoting library services. At the moment I am working as a library technician and I am proud of the contributions library technicians make to libraries.
Like the lovely Lee, I am an associate member of ALIA, enrolled in the ALIA PD Scheme, a committee member of the ALIA Qld Group and enjoy contributing to my profession.
On a personal note I am mother to a psychotic black cat, enjoy going out for dinner with my friends, drinking champagne, crochet, going to the ballet and art gallery regularly, and of course buying and reading too many books.
My promise to followers of this blog:
• I will not share photos of my cat
• I will not share photos of my crochet
…….unless you want me to.

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Just who are Michelle Coxsen and Lee Bess????

  1. Pingback: Introductions » flexnib